Self-Care with Five of Cups

Welcome to Self-Care with tarot! Each week we will go over one tarot card and explore how it can be used to inspire a self-care activity for the week. This week is the Five of Cups.

Introduction and Meaning of the Card

SC-c5-01If you haven’t already, you can explore the basic meaning of this card here, from my Exploring Tarot series, and you can explore the emotional meaning here, from my Emotional Tarot series.

With that said, in the context of self-care, I take this card to mean there is a need to process grief or regret. Suffering increases the harder we try to cling to things we have lost or things not meant for us.

My Suggested Self-Care Activity for the Week

Based on the meaning of this card, the activity I would suggest to try doing each day until next Wednesday is to meditate upon, name and claim, and sit with whatever difficult emotions we may have at this time.

It’s not possible to let go of an emotion that remains buried, unrecognized, and unprocessed. Emotions like that will continue to loop through the system until they have been addressed. And it’s important to give ourselves permission to feel it without shame or guilt. It’s important to give ourselves the safe space we need to do that.

If you’re not able to do this on your own, don’t be afraid to reach out to a trained specialist that deals with complex emotions such as grief, loss, and regret.

Do You have any Self-Care Activity Ideas to Suggest?

Based on the theme of this card, do you have any additional ideas for self-care activities to suggest? I would love to hear them in the comments below!

~ Legacy of the Divine Tarot by Ciro Marchetti (Illustrator and Author) © 2009
~ Credit for 3D model and assets used in this rendered image can be found here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.